Preceptor Training

This is a 2 hour 15 minute course divided into 10-20 minute segments designed for the busy adult nursing learner. There are 4 modules in this segment of the course: Core Principles, Learning Styles, Communication Techniques, and Planning/Evaluation. 

Production Team:

  • Sarah Rhoads PhD, WHNP-BC, FAAN
  • Karen Nellis, BSN, RN, AE-C
  • Mike Carroll, BS
  • Tammy McCray, BS

Videographer:

  • Mike Carroll, BS

Actors:

  • Sarah Rhoads PhD, WHNP-BC, FAAN
  • Karen Nellis, BSN, RN, AE-C
  • Bobby Bellflower, DNSc, NNP-BC, FAANP
  • Tammy McCray, BS
  • Kate Fouquier, CNM, PhD, FACNM
  • Lisa Beasley, DNP, APRN, NP-C, RN
  • Diana Dedmon, DNP, FNP-BC
  • Stuart Dedmon, BSN, RN
  • Charles Stewart, CPNP
  • Andrea Sebastian, DNP, PNP, SANE-P

Voice Over:

  • Lisa Beasley, DNP, APRN, NP-C, RN

Peer Reviewers:

  • Diana Dedmon, DNP, FNP-BC
  • Elizabeth Paton, DNP, CPNP-AC, PPCNP-BC
  • Lisa Beasley, DNP, APRN, NP-C, RN
  • Karen Nellis, BSN, RN, AE-C

Target Audience

This course is for preceptors for nursing students and/or new nurses. 

Learning Objectives

The outcomes for this 2 hour 15 minute course are:

  1. Identify core principles and role of a nursing preceptor
  2. Understand the nursing theory framework and identify one example
  3. Identify your personal learning style
  4. Identify 3 types of learners
  5. Assess a conflict situation
  6. Develop a plan for a difficult conversation
  7. Develop 2 education plans: One for a student and one for a co-worker
    Course summary
    Available credit: 
    • 2.25 ANCC
    Course opens: 
    06/15/2022
    Course expires: 
    05/26/2024
    Rating: 
    0

    Sarah Rhoads PhD, WHNP-BC, FAAN, Content Expert, srhoads@uthsc.edu

    Sara Day PhD, RN, FAAN, Content Expert, sday5@uthsc.edu

    Bobby Bellflower, DNSc, NNP-BC, FAANP, Content Expert, bbellflo@uthsc.edu

    Elisabeth Chismark, PhD, RN- Content Expert, elisabeth.chismark@gmail.com

    Karen Nellis BSN, RN, AE-C- Nurse Planner,  knellis@uthsc.edu

    Diana Dedmon, DNP, FNP-BC, ddedmon@uthsc.edu 

    Elizabeth Paton, DNP, CPNP-AC, PPCNP-BC, epaton@uthsc.edu

    Lisa Beasley, DNP, APRN, NP-C, RN, ebeasle9@uthsc.edu

    The University of TN Health Science Center College of Nursing, Memphis  is accredited as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

    In order to receive full contact credit(s) for this NCPD activity, you must:

    • Complete the course and submit Evaluation

    A conflict of Interest occurs when an individual has an opportunity to affect educational content about health-care products or services of a commercial interest with which she/he has a financial relationship. The planners and presenters of this NCPD activity have disclosed no relevant financial relationships with any commercial interests pertaining to this activity.

    • Commercial Support: No
    • Noncommercial Sponsor Support: No
    • Off-label Product Use: This NCPD activity does not include any unannounced information about off-label use of a product for a purpose other than that for which it was approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

    Available Credit

    • 2.25 ANCC
    Please login or register to take this course.